The museum was opened in 1926. The founder of the museum is Venedict Khakhlov, palaeobotanist, Professor, Honored Scientist.
The first paleontological collections, mostly rare fossils and footprints of the Paleozoic and Mesozoic, were donated to Tomsk Imperial University by the Dukes of Leuchtenberg and Hermann Trautschold, Professor of Petrovskaya Agricultural Academy.
The museum collections comprise more than 200 thousand macro-remains of animals and plants and describe the organic world and the habitat of the past geological eras.
The museum stores the world's rarest collection of the Jurassic "Zollikofen slates" of Germany with prints of fish, algae, dragonflies; replicas and bas-reliefs of an archaeopteryx, an ichthyosaur, reptiles and mammals that the German firms Kranz and B. Sturtz in Bonn made in the 19th century; collections of the Upper Paleozoic plants from the coal bearing basins of Siberia, one of the world's finest collections of the first land plants that belonged to Anatoly Ananiev, a collection of foraminifera and corals; skeletons of large Ice Age mammals: a mammoth, a woolly rhinoceros, a bison, as well as showcases with bone remnants from the territories of Siberia.
- +7 (3822) 529-693
- Office 234, 36 Lenin Ave. (Main building), Tomsk, Russia 634050